Duffins and facials: day at the spa #2

Back in April, a friend and I had a whole day out at a spa. It was so incredibly relaxing that, clearly we wanted to repeat the experience as soon as possible.

Things got in the way – family, work, illness, but finally we got round to booking another – phew! My skin was in need of a serious facial.

Back in April, we visited The Mere in Cheshire which was amazing. That ‘deep relax’ room – I just wish I had one in my house.

Yesterday we visited Viva Urban Spa at the De Vere Village Hotel near Chester. Or at least we thought it was near Chester but ended up in Wales?! It must have been just over the border in hindsight – a place called Flintshire (my Geography leaves a lot to be desired – just ask my friends in London who once collapsed in laughter when I innocently asked “Is London near Wales?”).

Our surroundings were more sedate than the masterly Mere, but the day was still heaven.

In fact, I probably didn’t notice the surroundings as the first things I saw upon arrival was a Starbucks sign within the Village resort. Given the inordinate stress it takes to get out of the house on your own, having sorted out adequate childcare and partnercare arrangements, and arrive in Wales by 10am, I think you’d agree that coffee was the first stop.

And this…

20131110-201008.jpg

This a Duffin. Yes that’s right- a wonderful mutant muffin that’s also a doughnut? If ever there’s a good start to a spa day this is it!

Onto the spa…

I’m always intrigued by how my mind works during a spa day (I have so many if them, you know). On our last day I reflected on what my mind chose to think about as it relaxed. This time, I didn’t get the chance to do that as I kept falling asleep!

We used the steam room and sauna before our ESPA treatments – a facial, scalp massage and back massage.

I nearly fell asleep in the steam room. I was definitely drifting off when relaxing on the loungers afterwards and finally caved in during the back massage, despite it actually being quite painfully due to my terribly knotty shoulders.

I do vaguely remember the facial as some much-loved but distant friend, but I was snoozing through this, too. My skin felt great afterwards and still does today. It needed it after all the dust we’ve had in our house due to work we’re having done.

I guess I didn’t know I was so tired!

I’ve been doing so much recently – children’s parties, work, family events. I’ve noticed myself becoming very forgetful – there seems to be so much to remember.

There’s only one thing for it, obviously – more spa days!

Leave a comment